The VFG believes that informed selling and buying communities are good for the vintage-fashion industry as a whole, and all visitors to the website have access to the VFG resources. These are continually updated and constantly evolving, thanks to a dedicated volunteer staff.
Our blog features our picks of the freshest vintage items, member news and articles. We have also created a growing series of articles on some classic designers.
The Vintage Fashion Guild™ (VFG) is an international organization dedicated to the promotion and preservation of vintage fashion.
The Vintage Fashion Guild™ (VFG) is an international community of people with expertise in vintage fashion. VFG members enjoy a wealth of resources, avenues for promoting their shops and specialties, and camaraderie with others who share a common interest and passion.
Marshall & Snelgrove were garment and textile retailers of distinction in London and elsewhere for over a hundred years. John Snelgrove set up his first business in 1838. In 1848 he was joined in partnership by James Marshall who already maintained a drapery business in Yorkshire and in Vere Street, London (first Marshall & Wilson, then Marshall, Wilson and Stinton).
They quickly became a highly-regarded business and occupied a palatial new premises at 334-348 Oxford Street (bought in 1851) that was completed in three years, by 1878, although the Vere Street branch was maintained for some time.
Marshall and Snelgrove cultivated an air of exclusivity by maintaining an on-site couturier workroom to supplement their ready-to-wear lines. A prestigious position as apprentice in the store could only be secured with a deposit of 60 guineas.
One of the founder’s sons, James C. Marshall, expanded the business by opening branches across the North and North Midlands of England (Scarborough, Harrogate, Birmingham, Manchester, Southport, Leicester, Leeds, York, Sheffield and Bradford).
The first world war hit the firm badly. It was supported through emergency measures from 1916 and in 1919 merged with Debenham and Freebody (q.v.). Ownership of Marshall and Snelgrove continued to mean more in prestige than money to Debenhams for the next forty years.
Some branches were closed in the 1960s and the old Victorian flagship block was demolished and rebuilt. The calculated strengthening of the brand name of the parent company meant that all Marshall and Snelgrove stores became ‘Debenhams’ in 1973.
Written by vintage-voyager.com
Courtesy of emmapeelpants
Courtesy of crinolinegirl
Courtesy of catwalkvintage
Courtesy of Retro Ruth
from an early 1940s evening gown
from a 1940s gown
from a 1940s weasel fur cape
from a 1950s fur stole