The VFG believes that informed selling and buying communities are good for the vintage-fashion industry as a whole, and all visitors to the website have access to the VFG resources. These are continually updated and constantly evolving, thanks to a dedicated volunteer staff.
Our blog features our picks of the freshest vintage items, member news and articles. We have also created a growing series of articles on some classic designers.
The Vintage Fashion Guild™ (VFG) is an international organization dedicated to the promotion and preservation of vintage fashion.
The Vintage Fashion Guild™ (VFG) is an international community of people with expertise in vintage fashion. VFG members enjoy a wealth of resources, avenues for promoting their shops and specialties, and camaraderie with others who share a common interest and passion.
Kaufman’s was a fine Louisville, KY department store carrying women’s clothing, furs, linens and menswear, founded by Henry Kaufman in 1879 on Jefferson St. between 7th and 8th. In 1883 Benjamin Straus became a partner and the name was changed to Kaufman-Straus Dry Goods. In 1887, Kaufman-Straus moved to 4th St. Their six story downtown Louisville location at 427-437 South 4th St. was built in 1903 by local Louisville architect Mason Maury on the site of the original public library. They occupied this store until 1971. By 1901, Kaufman-Straus & Co. also had a location in Lexington, Ky. Kaufman-Straus was bought in 1924 by the City Stores Buying Group.
In addition to clothing, they also sold dry goods, lace, embroideries, millinery, shoes, draperies, corsets, hosiery, china, cut glass, pictures, books, jewelry, stationary, men’s wear and house furnishings. The name was shortened in advertising to Kaufman’s by 1946, but both names continued to be used into the 1950s. Kaufman’s of Kentuckiana was occasionally used in advertising. In 1960, Kaufman-Straus officially became Kaufman’s of Kentucky. However, this was still often shortened to Kaufman’s in ads and on labels. The Dixie Manor store opened in 1958. An anchor store in The Mall St. Matthews called Kaufman’s of Kentucky opened in 1962. In December of 1969, Kaufman’s was sold to Ayres and the name changed yet again. The 4th St. building is now part of 4th Street Live.
Written by Hollis Jenkins-Evans
Courtesy of Hollis Jenkins-Evans
from a 1900s-1920s dress
from a 1949 Lilli Ann suit
from a 1950s necktie
from a 1950s Moordale suit