Skip to content

Premier furrier Jaeckel was founded in New York City by Hugo Jaeckal in 1863.

From a contemporary advertisement, the addresses of the firm from its founding through 1919: 1863 No. 46 Prince Street where business was founded 1863 1881-1883 Broadway and Bleecker St. 1883-1890 Nos. 11-13 W Houston St. 1890-1898 No.20 Waverly Place 1893-1908 No. 37 Union Square 1908-1919 Nos. 16-20 West 32nd St.

The same advertisement touts Jaeckel’s sons being educated in and sharing the business.

In 1938 Jaeckel moved to 8-10 East 57th St. It was the seventh building to be occupied by the concern in the 75 years since its founding.

After 86 years of competition, C.G. Gunther’s and Sons and Jaeckel, Inc. merged in 1949, and the business was known as Gunther Jaeckel.

See also: Gunther Jaeckel